Florida Specific: Boaters Safety Education Requirement’s

Florida Boater Education Requirements

Operating Motorboats:

If you were born on or after January 1, 1988, and want to operate a boat with 10 or more horsepower, you must:
Pass an approved boater safety course.
Carry a photo ID and a Boater Safety ID card Card issued by the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission.
Exceptions:
You can operate with someone on board who is at least 18 and has the required ID card, or is exempt from educational requirements, or is a U.S. Coast Guard-licensed vessel master.
Operating on a private lake or pond.
Non-residents with proof of a NASBLA-approved boater safety course from another state.
Within 90 days of boat purchase with a proper bill of sale.
Within 90 days of completing an approved safety course with a photo ID and course completion certificate on board.
Mandatory Violator Education:

If convicted of a criminal boating violation, certain boating infractions leading to reportable accidents, or two non-criminal boating safety violations within 12 months, you must complete Mandatory Violator Education to restore boating privileges.
Choose from several NASBLA/Florida-approved boating safety courses or take the approved online violator course.
Requirements for Boat Rental Facilities:

Rental facilities cannot rent boats without proper safety equipment, exceeding recommended horsepower or load capacity, or unseaworthy vessels.
For boats with 10+ horsepower motors:
Must provide pre-rental instruction on operational details, safe operation, right-of-way rules, operator responsibilities, and local waterway characteristics.
Instructors must have completed a NASBLA/Florida-approved boater safety course.

Personal watercraft rentals:
Not allowed for anyone under 18.
Must offer on-the-water demonstration and a “check ride” to assess renters’ ability to navigate personal watercraft.


Stay Up-to-date and Informed

Remember: It is your responsibility to stay informed and up-to-date on changes in regulations and laws as well as safety and operation requirements

This course is a basic boater safety course and is the minimum requirement. Additional education is recommended, and may even be required, to operate a boat safely.

FLORIDA BOAT TEST

COMING SOON !

Take My Boat exam on a tablet